A Lick of Heaven

Lauren Villa

Some see a lake of fire at the end of it, others a ring of isolation.

The fire had begun nibbling at my heels but

I hurried away unscathed.

I tasted the lick of heaven

and it drips with ease

like a cool IV.

Floating back down, I swayed in the wind

of miniature blue and white feathers,

parakeet’s wings motioning me

back and forth but always forward.

No one

walks in heaven,

I came back gently and quietly.

And the fire began to nibble at my heels again.

San Telmo, Buenos Aires (Photo credit: Melissa Lunden)

Lauren Villa was born and raised in Los Angeles, where she proudly resides. Once an aspiring astronaut, found her calling with words when she could not reconcile the torrid relationship she had with Physics. She loves penguins, the Dodgers and vodka.

1 comment

Leave a Reply

